Home

Am I a writer because I write; or do I write because I am a writer?

Writing does not a writer make. Learning to write does not a writer make. The stringing together of words does not the novelist, author or poet make.

Writing is a way of living, a way of thinking and a way of expressing the essence of the self.

There are many different definitions and interpretations to the word writing. 1. “The activity or skill of marking coherent words on paper and composing text”; or 2. “The activity or occupation of composing text for publication.” are but two definitions.

To me as lover of words these definitions seem cold and clinical, carrying nothing of the passion, feelings and emotions that go with forming and creating with words. It is devoid of any indication of the process required from the one sculpting with words. There is no mention of the multitude of notebooks filled with book outlines and character profiles; of story lines and plots; of moments, feelings and incidents captured by words.

Like a photographer constantly seeks to capture a setting or a fleeting moment in a frame, the creator with words seeks to capture in words. That which we perceive, experience, feel or believe we give expression to by words. We paint, create and form by words. Words, phrases and idioms are our medium of choice; paper or screen our canvas.

Ask me how I feel and I will write you a poem. Ask me what I believe and I will write you an article or thesis postulating my life philosophy. Ask me what I have experienced and I will write you a drama containing satire, adventure, humor, romance, suspense and action.

I write because I need to write; I want to write; I love to write. To me writing is a sacred calling that pulls at my soul.

Blessing: May you daily live the story specially written for you. 

3 thoughts on “Fruit from My Wild Garden

  1. That reminds me of the Rogers & Hammerstein’s Cinderella. Do you know the song I mean? It’s great you love to write; this professor gets flustered to tears sometimes when he can’t put his thoughts and ideas in enough order to express them. Do you have any suggestions for combating this???

    • Don’t we all struggle with verbalizing our thoughts or feelings at one or another time. Yet we seem to find a way to give expression, even if it is by quoting from a book or a song.

Leave a Reply

