Home

images(33)

Today, a year ago I courageously entered the unfamiliar territory of the blogosphere. I dipped my toe into these uncharted waters by posting my first article, The Simple Life, a reflective piece on my decision and journey towards an uncomplicated and simple life.

My entry into this mysterious world had been an interesting journey. This colorful and dynamic world of words opened up my mind to new possibilities in almost every aspect of my life. It challenged me in my views, beliefs and opinions unlike any one factor on my life before. The common man had gained a voice and an influential one by that. With enthusiasm and vigor, I had thrown my voice in with the rest of the generation of thinkers, trendsetters and influencers.

Traditionally, all publishing had been carefully inspected, edited and approved. Blogging has turned the publishing world on its head as it allows the blogger to write and publish anything, at any time and from anywhere and have it immediately available to millions of readers. This makes blogging uniquely alive and vibrant. As a lover of extreme sport, I am captivated by blogging. I enjoy embracing the challenge, the exhilaration, the seemingly chaotic nature and vitality of it.

On 20 August 2014 I expanded my blogging experience by posting my first Afrikaans piece, Tussen treine en stasies to my blog, Nomaad. This blog features reflective writing as well as prose poetry. This project holds sentimental value to me as Afrikaans is my home language and I have not been writing much in Afrikaans the last couple of years. This blog allows me self-expression in a language that fits like a worn-in pair of jeans – familiar and soft to the touch.

On 1 December 2014, my third blog, Altered Images, a human-interest blog, saw the light. It is a work in progress, as are both the other blogs, constantly evolving and growing, exploring and developing new avenues and ways of expression, communication and connecting. I am looking forward to a long history with this wonderfully vibrant and lively medium.

One thought on “Celebrating an incredible first year as blogger and independent writer.

Leave a Reply

