Home

body-brushing-el-cepillado-en-seco2So, only in my fifty-second year I discovered and tried dry brushing proving that we are never too old to learn something new and no, it is not a painting technique.

For the last eleven years I have been gradually embracing more and more natural ways of health as well personal care to complement my simple lifestyle. Raw honey, good quality apple cider vinegar and bicarbonate of soda have a permanent place on my list of essentials in the home. Together with an almond base oil, a selection of essential oils, herbs and spices as well as a diet of our own organically grown food and regular exercise, they form the basis for our health care regime.

I have a genetic predisposition for poor blood circulation and for that reason I include ginger, garlic, turmeric and when possible, rosemary to my daily eating plan. I avoid wearing restrictive clothing and make use of an invigorating hot/cold shower when my body needs a little bit of extra help. I also have at least three sessions of deep breathing and stretching about 30 to 45 minutes each, per week.

Recently, I by chance stumbled onto a video explaining the practice of dry brushing for improvement of blood circulation in the treatment of cellulite. I was intrigued and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. On the contrary, dry brushing is now part of my daily health and personal care program.

Dry brushing is a body massage making use of a dry stiff-bristled brush. It helps with detoxification by increasing blood circulation and promoting lymph drainage and flow. It also unclogs the skin pores in the exfoliation process and leaves the skin glowing and the body invigorated.

Brushing the skin while it is dry allows you to exfoliate and improve blood circulation without depleting the skin of its moisture, as the hot water in the shower often does.

I make use of a long handled body brush as it helps me reach all the areas that I want to brush.

Starting with my feet I work my way up towards my hips, chest, back, shoulders and arms, conscious to always brush towards my heart. I brush with slow, flowing strokes that are firm yet gentle as I do not want to be abrasive to or irritate my skin. After brushing I take a warm shower to wash away all of the dead skin cells, using only a moderate amount of soap as not to dry out my skin. I follow that by applying either a rich body butter or coconut oil infused with rosemary oil, to all of the brushed areas.

This simple routine is like your own spa treatment at home but easy on your budget and beneficial to your overall health and welfare.

©Copyright Micelle Coetsee 2015

Leave a Reply

